The Ocean Between Us

How can the apathetic ocean separate us

When I can hear your heartbeat

In its pregnant silence

And you, my love, can hear my song

Carried by the gentle wind

And the lovely winter birds

How can our love be bound to you or me

When we aren’t

I can still smell you in the evening air

While the sun drowns

Just like I do

In an ocean of you

Lonely nights bring memories of you

Of our time together – good and bad

And I embrace every moment of it

The water of my tears, my witness

I hope you long for me

With your every breath

The ghost of my warm embrace

Lingering in your dreams

Oh, my love, how I miss you

And that intoxicating smile

More potent than the finest of wines

How I long to hold your hand

To never let go of it again

And walk with you down the solitary road

In the pouring rain

You are my anchor

Something to hold on to

I love you my darling

I really do